Breeze’s Kittens!

About two weeks after Saffron had kittens, Breeze was no longer pregnant, I came to the conclusion that she had kittens! They were not found for the longest time, but one day, we finally did.

Walking into the horse stall area, a panick seized me. Where were my leads??! I had left my purple on in the pasture while I was riding Bonnie, Mommy used the blue one for Willow this morning, but where was my ground work lead??

I frantically started looking around Bonnie’s stall. I found nothing. Just then I remembered that I had brought Patience to the pasture with it, I flew over there. While I flew, I started worrying. Did I leave my lead in the pasture? If I did, suppose Creeper tore it up??? I was even more panicked.

I reached the pasture, I saw the lead on the ground in the pasture. I was very, very, very, a million times very worried. I opened the gate, and got shocked by the fence. I screamed – it didn’t hurt that much, it just is always surprising, I didn’t scream the last time. As I was going in, Creeper flew out, I put the handle of the gate – which was electrified – in her path, hoping it would stop her, but it didn’t. I grabbed the lead and slipped out, and put the gate back up. I looked my lead over, it was okay! Creeper didn’t kill it! I felt SO relieved.

Some how Dexter knew Creeper had gotten off, and went after her. I felt bad, thinking to myself “Hey, Dexter! I let your dog out! Can you go catch her and bring her back?” I felt like such a kind sister. *sigh*, and when I tried to help, I normally just got in the way.

I went to the horse stall area and lovingly hung up my lead. I was so glad it was safe. I went to the front part of the barn to see Dexter walking Creeper, but he made me pause in confusion. He had a smile on his face. It can be a lot of working chasing down a big dog that wants to run all over our property, go under the deck, and then sometimes fo visit the neighbours. All throughout the winter we kept her in the barn, which is quite a bit of room – but not enough. Dexter takes her on walks all the time, which we call patrols. When we put her in the pasture, she had a lot more room, but instead of running around and burning off all that energy, she stalks the door, waiting for a chance to slip out so that she can run everywhere.

“Kayli! I found Breeze’s kittens, or rather, Creeper found them.” Dexter said, walking towards me with Creeper on the leash.

“Really? Where?” I asked

“In the front part of the barn”, Dexter replied.

I headed in front of the barn, we had a lot of bushes here. Looking under some of them, I was thinking that it would have been easy to hide them here.

“Over here!” Dexter called.

Dashing to where I heard his voice, I found myself in the garage like thing that was attached to the barn. “Ohh.” I said.

“They’re under the wall here. Creeper went here, as straight as an arrow. They were not pleased.” Dexter said, motioning to the missing board in the wall.

I looked under, but I couldn’t see anything. I looked left under a bunch of tarps, I saw that it kind of looked like a cave. Sure enough, there were three kittens there. Two orange ones, and one that looked like Harvey, one of Breeze’s first kittens. I reached out to grab one, I picked it up. It wasn’t anything like Azuzu, it didn’t bite me!

For barn kittens – or any kittens, really -, they were actually really friendly! Breeze is a very friendly cat, so I suppose they got her genes. The black one was definitely my favourite, right from the start.

I think, that just then, Creeper escaped the barn and rushed straight over to the kittens. Nose under the tarp, pushing in further, Creeper tried to get at the kittens. We grabbed on to her collar and pulled her back, using all of our strength, until she was out. Dexter led her back to the barn; we would put her in the pasture when Mommy and Daddy were on site.

“See? Just like that.” Dexter said referring to Creeper.

I nodded my head, “Yeah, that’s great. Now we have to bring them in, and name them. ” I said.

Two days later, we brought four kittens inside, to friendly them up – not that they needed it. There were two orange, and two black ones. The orange ones were boys, and the black ones were girls. We brought Breeze in, and she isn’t a very cat friendly cat – so that was difficult. She would hiss and growl when another cat came to close, but remember, she is also being thrown into another cat’s territory. Breeze is slowly adjusting.

The kitten’s eyes were open, and they were walking around. They run a little, and they are a little bigger than Corona’s kittens. We think they are about six weeks old. We knew that Breeze lost her pregnant look before Corona gave birth, so it makes sense.

That is our surprise kitten adventure! Thanks for reading, do your cats hide their kittens? Keep an eye out for updates!

Kayli

Leave a comment