Riding Willow, and Bonnie’s Jump

The day before yesterday, Dexter and I went to go work with our horses. Mommy said that I could saddle Willow and ride her around a bit, I have only taken one or two steps on Willow before- and that was before horse lessons. I was so excited, I could have leapt through the roof!!

Dexter and I went outside, and I brought my camera so we could take lots of pictures. I asked Bonnie to ground tie, but she thought I was asking to come as I went and got the brushes, eventually she got the message and stayed put. I went and got one brush at a time: curry, dandy, and soft. Bonnie was brushed. I then went and grabbed the hoof pick, and Bonnie did good, and stood still. I picked out her hooves, Bonnie did pretty well with her hooves, she lifted them when I squeezed her chestnut, and for one of her back ones I just had to point! Usually it’s harder to just point, and get her to lift her back ones, and usually her front ones were easy; not today! Willow did great with her hooves!

Miss Bonnie

After that, we did some groundwork. I got Bonnie to go out a circle around me, to “Whoah!”, walk, do a little liberty type stuff, and to respond to pressure. Dexter got Willow to “Whoah!”, walk, turn, and move over.

I then took Bonnie for a little walk in the pasture, Dexter did the same with Willow. We walked down a path the horses had made, and Bonnie responded pretty well, and Willow didn’t do to bad either.

Dexter and I took some pictures with my camera, and they turned out pretty good- not quite as clear as I’d like, but they were cute. Then it was time for saddling, I brought out Willow’s tack, Dexter and I saddled and bridled her up.

When we brought the tack out, Bonnie was very weary, and kept her distance. She was pretty nervous, and a little afraid. But she did come and groom the saddle blanket.

Dexter and Willow, with blurry Massey in the background

We took a few more pictures. Dexter wanted to get on first, so not being to sad, I let him get on first. I helped Dexter up on to Willow’s saddle, and Dexter was very happy. Willow was being pretty stubborn about walking, but she went backwards a lot. Dexter squeezed and squeezed, but instead of walking forward, she backed up. We wanted to take her outside so I could take some brighter pictures, but Willow had other plans. I pulled on the bridle a bit to get her to come forward, and we took some more pictures.

I’m so proud of Dexter, he has been so excited to get on Willow, for like, forever!

Dexter riding Willow

Dexter started to get a little cold, and he didn’t want to push it too far, but really I think he could have kept going if he wanted- he just needed a little more determination… Just saying!

I was so excited, it was my turn to get on Willow! I had been waiting for this moment since the beginning of time! And by that, I mean since I had been on her last. It had been so long since I had been on her, it was before horse lessons had started, in the heat of the summer, when we didn’t have enough stubbornness to match her stubbornness. That last time, we hadn’t taken a step, this time I was going to ride! This time I had more stubbornness, thanks to Bonnie, I had more determination, more courage, I could do this!

I put my foot in the stirrups, which was a little bit more of a stretch than I remember it being, and I swung my self on to Willow’s back. I had almost forgotten what it had felt like to sit in a saddle. The split reins were in my hands, I was hoping I wouldn’t accidentally let go. I was so excited, I was so happy.

I finally got to ride Willow! Yup, that’s me on Willow.

I squeezed Willow forward, she did not respond. All of my hopes, dashed to pieces! I’m kidding, there was lots of squeezing, and I kicked a lot too, just trying to get her forward. The only direction she would go is back. We backed out of the back room, and almost half-way into the front room. I kept turning her around, and trying to go forward. Then I turned her so that her back end faced the way the door was, I backed her up a few steps. I then turned her back to face the door, I squeezed. She did not go forward, I squeezed harder, and harder, until I could squeeze no harder. I then started tapping, and then kicking, and she took a step. We fought some more, and we were making progress, but Willow was still fighting to go back to the front room so she could stand around.

Dexter helped me a little by using the bridle to pull her forward. We got to the door, and Dexter took some pictures. I then asked Willow outside, I squeezed, and then I kicked, and she listened.

Me on Willow!

We went into the paddock, walked around a bit, and then we went into the back paddock and went on a path the horses had made. This path we went on went down a hill a little bit, I had never ridden Bonnie down that path. Willow did pretty well, and she followed the other horses pretty well too.

I walked her into another paddock, and she did really well, I was so happy. I never wanted to get off of Willow. She was so fun to ride, and she responded a lot better once we got out of the barn, especially when she had a horse or Dexter to follow.

I then got off, untacked Willow, and brought her tack back. I went and got on Bonnie.

I walked Bonnie out into the paddock, and she was responding pretty well. I walked her on to the path I walked Willow on today, and she was nervous. She kept fighting, and was walking a lot faster than normal. She wanted to go back to the barn. Dexter decided that he wanted to roll down the hill, so he lay down and started rolling. I got Bonnie to a more calm, relaxed state of mind, and that was good.

Me on Bonnie.

All of a sudden, Bonnie leapt into the air, and threw her head. I was on her, and Dexter was rolling, so it is a little difficult to explain what happened. I was thrown off, but at the same time, I kind of slid off. Somehow, while getting off, I hurt my knee, not badly of course. Somehow, I landed on my feet, and I was okay. I turned her around, and circled her once or twice. I judged that if I had fallen, I probably would have been okay, and that if I had a saddle, I would have stayed on. Dexter was up pretty quick, he just saw how crazy she threw her head after the jump. This was when I realized how much my knee was hurting.

I decided that I was getting back on her, I was not afraid at this point. I had the courage. I hopped back on Bonnie, but she kept speeding up more than I liked. After she sped up, I would pull on the reins, release, pull on the reins, and release, but that wasn’t enough to stop her. Since that wasn’t working, I would pull on the reins, release, emergency stop her, circle her twice, maybe three times, and continue going forward. After a few speed ups, I realized that she was trying to bolt, and that is more dangerous than just speeding up.

Bonnie enjoys smelling my boots. Silly pony.

I was starting to get a little nervous, but I didn’t want to be nervous! I didn’t want to be afraid! How do I choke off this fear before it consumes, like it always has! Fear, I really do not like fear, it damages, I tried not be afraid. I asked Dexter things like “I’m afraid, and I don’t want to be afraid. How can I stop? Why am I afraid? I don’t even really know why I’m afraid!”.

I got Bonnie back into the paddock where the barn was, and she was not wanting to bolt quite as much. But to enter the barn, I had to go down a hill, and Bonnie LOVES to trot down hills. I got a little more nervous, what if she trotted, and then decided to jump, or bolt, or rear? I would have been worried about bucking, but as far as I can tell, Bonnie is a rear-er, not a bucker.

I took a few deep breaths, and calmed myself. Bonnie softened and relaxed herself too. Taking a moment to stop, think, and relax can really help. The horse can pick up on the things you are feeling, and they begin to feel that themselves. Taking a moment to become calm really helped. I then faced the hill, I got Bonnie to walk down it very calmly.

Me riding Bonnie bareback.

After that, I walked Bonnie into the barn, she was a lot calmer, and more responsive. I decided that my fear might build and fester if I didn’t ride her back outside. There is more to be spooked by outside than in the barn, so I was a little nervous about going back into the paddock, but I was not about to let that fear build. I would not let that fear damage again. No way, not if I could help it.

I walked back outside with Bonnie, and I walked her up and down those tiny hills- probably better called slight slopes- and she did better. She was calmer, more responsive, and her focus was more on me. I was not afraid or nervous when I finished. The extra time going up and down hills, and walking around outside helped a lot.

I dismounted Bonnie, landing on my foot with my good knee, and went inside. It was a very eventful day, we didn’t get to saddling Massey, but maybe next time. I had a lot of fun! I think my courage has been built upon a bit too. Have you been riding your horses lately?

Kayli and Bonnie

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment