More Kittens…

It is the season to expect animals to be born, the goats are coming, chicks are coming, calves are coming, kittens are coming…

Saffron had kittens on my bed. Yup, on my bed, with no warning whatsoever! Last night, I was lying down under the warm, soft, comfy blankets on my bed, and I was trying to sleep when I was disturbed. I was disturbed by three angry sounding meows, and I got up to see a kitten.

Really cat? Really?! Couldn’t you have, you know, nested??

That kitten came out, and Saffron started tending to it like a good momma. Saffron had gotten SO big over the last month or so, I thought that she was going to have a bigger litter- well, she is trying to beat Zoe, and she at least has to stay in the race! Zoe’s puppies are leaving in three weeks, so Saffron decided that she’d steal those last weeks of attention for herself. “Take that, Zoe! You only get five weeks of attention, love, and pets! It’s ALL MINE! I get eight full weeks of attention, and the first three are going to be even sweeter to me because they are stolen from Zoe.” These are Saffron’s thoughts.

Saffron the racer, our dear little attention seeker with her kittens

While Saffron smiles to herself, I go in search of a box to put her and her kittens in. Those kittens are not staying on my bed! Soon enough, I found a box big enough, and I put it on my bed. I picked Saffron up, and she gave me a very angry meow, and she glared at me as if I had killed her kitten. I put her in the box, and she glared me down and meowed. She tried to get out, but I didn’t let her, and I put her kitten in. She meowed more, and she had a look on her face that said “I will kill you!”.

Again she tried to escape, and again I didn’t let her. I gave her an equally angry glare (I wasn’t actually mad), and I said “You had kittens on my bed! MY BED! At one in the morning!” I picked up her kitten, and I held it in front of her so that she could see it well, “Take care of him.” I with a voice to match my glare. She licked that kitten, while glaring at me with what looked like hate. Her pupils were round and larger than normal, and she did not look happy. I put the box on the spot that she had the first kitten on, and angrily, she stayed there.

Say “Hello!” to the new kitten!

Saffron the cat with her little ones.

She had an orange one first, and then a grey one. At this time, I decided to lay in between the box and the wall, on my bed, and go to sleep. Saffron, I can tell you that it was not comfortable. Thank you for having kittens on my bed, Saffron- also, I am being very sarcastic here.

In the morning, I was very tired, and I awoke to see four little kittens with Saffron. One of them was still slightly wet. Three of them were orange, and one of them was grey. I picked the box up, and put it on the floor, and Saffron did not really mind.

The kittens are doing good, and Saffron is taking care of them. I was wrong, she had a small litter, I wonder how she’ll stay in the race for much longer… Zoe might have taken the lead.

These are the kittens, thanks for reading, and have a good day!

Kayli, Zoe the racer, and Saffron the racer.

Leave a comment