Lily The Icelandic Sheep

I’ve been looking for some Icelandic sheep for a little while now.

Icelandic sheep are supposed to be very hardy sheep, they are good for meat, milk and wool, and they are supposed to be good mothers.

Our sheep die a lot, they do not grow very big, and Brie and April were the only good mothers.

My parents are moving away from sheep, and just sold all of their sheep, but are instead moving towards goats. I guess I am kind of trying again with the sheep, and seeing if I can make them work for us. Icelandic sheep can also be shorn twice a year, more wool for us!

Lily

When we went to go drop off the puppies in Nova scotia, we were able to find a ewe lamb by Halifax. We were already heading there to drop off a puppy, so we messaged them, and surely enough, they still had the ewe. Eventually, when the time came, we went to their place. The sheep’s name is Lily, she is white with some black patches, and has horns. Lily is our first sheep with horns, Yay! Lily was very quiet the whole way home.

When we arrived, Daddy carried her out to a lambing pen and set her in there, I tried to go see her, but she was terrified. In the morning I came back, and she was a lot calmer. I put Faith, my little sheep in with her and they didn’t seem to mind each other. The next day I came out with carrots, and Lily has become extremely friendly ever since. Lily LOVES carrots! Lily and Faith are both about six months old, but Lily in noticeably bigger than Faith, and Faith has long wool, whereas Lily was just shorn down very far.

Faith

We have tried opening the door in between the lambing pen and where the goats are, but Lily is terrified of them, and to be fair, goats are bullies. Faith and Lily are happily in their little pen, but Eddie found a way in, but she isn’t bullying them much, so she can stay for now.

Our sheep were sold just two days ago, I miss Brie.

Eddie started pushing them away from grain, so now she is back in the other pen. Lily and Faith are living very peacefully. Once Lily came here, Faith started being a treat lover too! These girls get a lot of carrot pieces, but not too much. I feel like if I put a bag of carrots in there, it’d be gone in an hour. Those girls devour carrots!!

What treats do your sheep like?

That is all for now, I would like to put them out in a paddock soon so that they can run around. I’ll try to keep you updated.

Kayli

Leave a comment